All Categories

Webgl memory

Webgl memory

Search
Our forums have gone through some significant changes!
Preparing for Thanksgiving!
ruivillas
Comments:
0

Webgl memory


Hi


Playing the game on chrome (facebook) or Facebook gameroom, gives me a lot of webgl out of memory erros.

For example, checking the reinforcments that arrived or left.


I'm a computer tech and the computer is strong enough. (i7, 256 GbSSD, 16Gb RAM). It's common to see the app using 800~900Mb of memory in the main instance and 10% of that in the secondary instance (Cefsharp.(...))


This is more noticeable after the last update



Views
11k
Comments
23
Feb 27, 2017, 08:0002/27/17
Comments
Joined:
02/24/17
Comments:
4

Full text of error message I get. Most often occurs with a "server connection" error screen telling me to restart and call technical support. It is clear that there is a loss of connection with server, since the browser client locks up (not PC, just Chrome application, I can even start another instance and go browse, just Vikings running on Chrome stops) with the following message:


'An embedded page at gp1.wac.edgecastcdn.net says:

Out of memory. If you are the developer of this content, try allocating more

memory to your WebGL build with the WebGL player settings'


Feb 28, 2017, 13:1202/28/17
Feb 28, 2017, 13:17(edited)
Joined:
02/27/17
Comments:
2
I'm getting the same message.  I'm not linked to facebook just playing it on my chrome browser. 
Feb 28, 2017, 15:4502/28/17
Comments:
2
Same bug with Opera on Linux. It seems it is a dev problem for the desktop version...
Feb 28, 2017, 17:2702/28/17
Comments:
1
Same bug with Firefox
Mar 1, 2017, 15:2903/01/17
Comments:
1
same bug on the basic win10 browser microsoft edge. eventually screen goes dark or crashes. tried this on multiple comps and laptops, all give same issue, except the win7 comp
Mar 16, 2017, 22:3003/16/17
Joined:
02/06/17
Comments:
3
Same problem, crashes multiple times a day with the aforementioned message W10+Chrome
Mar 21, 2017, 20:0003/21/17
Joined:
03/06/17
Comments:
16
Having the same problem has become far worse after patch this morning i am constantly being Dc'd w10 chrome
Mar 23, 2017, 23:1003/23/17
Joined:
02/06/17
Comments:
3
Same here... and no response from Plarium on this thread, be it for more information or stating they are working on a fix.... disappointed.
Mar 24, 2017, 08:4503/24/17
Comments:
2
on chrome type about:flags find webgl2.0 and change the options to "on" then restart chrome should be good. 
Mar 25, 2017, 12:3203/25/17
Comments:
1

I get this on Firefox too.

Have not found any workarounds.
Mar 29, 2017, 12:4803/29/17
Comments:
1
started the game yesterday. was working fine then chat started to go wrong so refreshed and then got the webgl error. tried palemoon cometbird firefox edge and safari. all doing the same. with chat i could see ppl posting but not what they were saying unless it was a smiley. seems the text was the same colour as the background. So could only see the crowns and smilies as they were a diff colour.
Mar 31, 2017, 05:2903/31/17
Joined:
02/06/17
Comments:
3

Been playing the game for about a month now and this s till not fixed. The workaround posted by slasher4 increases the time between crashes, but the game still crashes with the WebGL error. Tried FF, Chrome and Chrome Canary. 


The thing that worries me the most is that there is no response from development on the issue. They either cannot replicate the issue, in which case I expect them to come up with some logging request for troubleshooting or they simply do not read the forum....


Anyway, if this is not adressed I am seriously considering looking elsewhere...
Apr 1, 2017, 09:2804/01/17
Joined:
01/24/17
Comments:
1
I have been a playing for over a month. No problems on most browsers. Suddenly on Firefox (Windows 10) I get I have no Webgl. And I have to install firefox. When I am on firefox. I googled for help. Did check my Webgl. All fine. Log out.. restart. Come on.. gets into game. Play for about 10 mins (If lucky). Before I am booted out again with the same message. Is it my laptop or is everyone getting this problem. ?
Jun 9, 2017, 09:5906/09/17
Comments:
1
I'm new in this game. Get the same message every time since the first start of the game. Seems to be a game bug. No problems with other games yet. Is there any solution, how to solve this problem? Otherwise I can't play it...
Jun 23, 2017, 19:2906/23/17
Joined:
06/08/17
Comments:
15

Have same problem.  Tried different browsers, same problem: 


Out of memory. If you are the developer of this content, try allocating more


memory to your WebGL build with the WebGL player settings'


This is very annoying. No problem on any other game. Got 24GB memory on windows 10 (64 bit). This is def. a problem with game client,


Fix this or tell us what is going on devs !! 



Jul 23, 2017, 00:0807/23/17
Joined:
10/11/16
Comments:
47

so how can we fix this. 




Looks like plarium DONT CARE ABOUT us.
Jul 25, 2017, 07:5407/25/17
Joined:
03/07/17
Comments:
1
this looser all them just want our money and do not patch this issue
Aug 1, 2017, 14:1508/01/17
Joined:
07/21/15
Comments:
37

WebGL is common issue with browser games. It can be minimized with the correct optimization, so I hope Plarium will do something in future. In the meantime, you can solve it by following the steps below. You basically need to increase the memory cache of your browser. After following these steps either the issue will be completely fixed or at least you will receive webgl error less frequently;



xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Internet Explorer.

Open Internet Explorer

Click Tool icon (Gear icon upper right of the browser)

Now Select Internet Option

Below in Browsing History and click on Setting

Now a window will appear

In Temporary Internet Files select automatically and write the size of memory you want to allocate at least 256 (1= 1MB) or more if you have lots of free storage.

Click OK and save your changes then click OK/Apply again to close the windows.



xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Mozilla Firefox.

Open Firefox

Click on Tools >> Options >> Advanced

In “Cache Web Content” select “Override automatic cache management.”

write the size of memory you want to allocate at least 256(1=1MB)

Now click on OK to save the setting



xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Google Chrome

Right Click on the Google Chrome icon in desktop

Select properties

Properties >> Shortcut Tab

Below find Target and click inside the box

Now press “End” key on the keyboard and give space before entering the given code below.

Now copy and paste this at the end: -disk-cache-size-1000000

Click OK to save the setting.

Aug 1, 2017, 20:3208/01/17
Aug 1, 2017, 20:34(edited)
Joined:
02/10/17
Comments:
9

Thanks for the above correction for this error.. I used it and adjusted to 560 memory.. unfortunately it only extended the time between error messages.  I had two strange things happen today. First I started hitting an Uber and after only a few hits (doppelganger active) I received the error that my memory was full and second (but before the error started) I found that someone had accessed my account and used it to activate the doppelganger and  attack several towns.


I have of course changed my password and it looks like other than changing the gear I was wearing, making about 20 beneficial attacks and starting the doppelganger (which of course I was saving) nothing negative can be seen that was done to the account.


But this of course begs the question was the error and the unauthorized access to my account connected in some way?


The fix above worked to extend the memory available but not the end result which is an error message telling me that if I'm the developer that I need to increase my memory available for programming.
Aug 2, 2017, 03:3408/02/17
Joined:
01/11/17
Comments:
2485

Dear Jarl!


Could you please explain the issue in detail?

It would be nice if you can describe the situation step by step. Please, attach the screenshots, also specify your ID number. Send your answer here


To find your ID, please open "Menu" at the bottom of the screen and tap "About the game".


Best Regards,

Your Plarium Support Team

Aug 2, 2017, 09:0908/02/17
Aug 2, 2017, 09:12(edited)