All Categories

How to use Scouts as your chosen troop type?

Search
Jun 6, 2019, 21:4206/06/19
10/03/17

So ok, I was a noob when I chose Scouts as my first troop in the Alchemical Laboratory, before I learned they could not be used in attacks. So I'm stuck with them as Level 1. Suggestions on how I can make the best of this choice?  Their power seems limited to espionage only, but perhaps I'm missing other aspects that more experienced players know?  Has anyone chosen Scouts as their Level 1 troop type and if so, how did you use them to your advantage?  

Appreciate ideas/suggestions!
Views
Comments
Comments
Jun 7, 2019, 13:2506/07/19
Jun 8, 2019, 13:18(edited)
09/09/17

First and foremost:

- you didn't really make a bad choice, perhaps not optimal, but not bad.

- EVERYONE needs scouts. AND: As there is only one scout (troop) type, life is a bit simpler. (No Cavalry vs Spear vs Siege vs ... it's all just scouts.)

More typically, scouts should be everyone's 2nd choice, for just that reason. [Raising troop type expertise is expensive, which is why people tend to focus on a first one (pouring all resources into raising that one to excellence, rather than many, diluting them all to mediocrity). There are 3 areas of simultaneous 'actioning' - Battle, Scouts, and Inquisitors. In the end you will want all 3. Simultaneously.

- So you can see what you're dealing with underneath, to know to send subsequently, say, siege vs. cavalry.